Aloguinsan is a small town and fourth class municipality in the province of Cebu,Philippines. By road it is 59 kilometres (37 mi) southwest of Cebu City. According to the 2010 census, it has a population of 27,650 people. The Aloguinsan Public Market is held at the top of the beach.
Aloguinsan was formerly a barrio of Pinamungajan. It was created a town by the Royal Decree of the King of Spain in 1886. The first capitan was Felomino Nengasca who became its first "Captain Municipal".
Bulwarte, a historic landmark, still stands as a mute testimony to the courage of the early inhabitants of Aloguinsan. Because of the frequent Moro attacks, the natives, under the supervision of the Spaniards, constructed a watchtower on top of a hill at the mouth of a river. From this vantage point, they could see incoming Moro vintas.
One night (a full moon and favorable winds), the Muslim invaders approached the village. With old people, women, and children safe behind the hills, the men began firing their cannons and did not stop until the pirates were annihilated. It was the end of Moro assaults.